Talking to Monkeys

I am sitting along the sands of Dolphin Bay, Thailand, relaxing in one of the occasional hammocks hanging between coconut trees. My toes drag in the hot sand as I gently rock my hammock back and forth to the rhythm of the breeze. The breeze is warm, but it is breeze enough to whisk away the sweat that threatens at my pores. I watch as the one or two people brave enough to be out in the hot water under the hot sun, splash in the tiny waves that roll into shore. And I thank God that I am here.

I wish I could say this and have it be true, but unfortunately I am too lazy and am enjoying my air conditioner in my room too much to actually go outside and relax in a hammock. But that gives you a picture of what I COULD be doing. And I really am thanking God I am here. It is so beautiful and relaxing, and it has been so refreshing for me. I guess I forgot to explain why I am here. I am at a retreat for missionaries from Anabaptist mission organizations who are in the Southeast Asian region. EMM is the biggest organization here, but there are others from MCC, Virginia Mennonite Missions, Mennonite Mission Network, and some others I forget right now. We have been here since April 3 and it has been a wonderful balance of relaxation, worship, sharing with each other, and delicious food! πŸ™‚

Yesterday, a bunch of us kayaked over to an island called Monkey Island, known for the monkeys that rush up to tourists that come to see them. They know tourists have bananas and THEY WANT BANANAS. We brought LOTS of bananas and I’m pretty sure we fed those monkeys for the next 3 days. It was hard work paddling against the wind and waves to get to the island, but it was so worth it. I had so much fun feeding eager monkeys and trying to escape the king of the island when he jumped at us with bared teeth – SHARP teeth. But it was so life-giving for me. I don’t feel like I often get to do random fun things like that, so I almost felt like it was an afternoon of connecting with Jesus, even though, to be honest, I didn’t really consciously talk with Jesus at all. At the retreat, we are talking about unconventional spiritual disciplines and the importance of recognizing that our whole lives are spiritual, not just the times we are with Jesus. So I am claiming that my time with the monkeys was a way of connecting. I connected with the nature that God placed in my path by battling waves and wind, feeling the strain of my muscles as I paddled, talking to monkeys (naturally, I talked to them), and feeding them bananas. Despite my sore muscles and burning skin, I felt so refreshed after that trip – more refreshed than I did after any of the worship sessions.

I have also had a wonderful time with new friends and friends I have known for months. My roommate, Jamila, and I, have been sharing everything – our room, stories, every meal, cultural shocks to Asian culture, and laughter. It has been so good to have a dear friend to just hang out with all the time and share questions and frustrations with. I haven’t had that for almost a year – since I graduated from college. It is such a blessing, and I know after this year, I will never again take my close girl friends for granted.

ImageImageImageImage

4 thoughts on “Talking to Monkeys

  1. Louise Yoder says:

    Ah, Jenna, thanks again for writing. Sounds like a lovely place. I like monkey’s too.
    Small world- pretty sure I went to school with Jamila’s dad!

  2. Sherill Hostetter says:

    Jenna, I appreciated reading your blog. So glad that visiting the monkeys via paddling was so refreshing for you. And we’re so glad that you and Jamilla could be together again.

  3. Jamila says:

    I love this! And you! And I agree wholeheartedly with that last paragraph. You are such a blessing.

Leave a comment